Finalists Announced for 2017 Michigan Charter School Administrator of the Year Award

LANSING, Michigan – Five outstanding charter school leaders were announced today as the finalists for the 2017 Michigan Charter School Administrator of the Year award. The announcement was made in a Facebook Live video by the Michigan Association of Public School Academies (MAPSA), the state charter school association.

The five administrator finalists are:

  • Kerri Barrett, West Michigan Academy of Environmental Science, Grand Rapids
  • Ali Bazzi, Star International Academy, Dearborn Heights
  • Chanavia Patterson, Detroit Enterprise Academy
  • Lyn Sperry, Countryside Academy, Benton Harbor
  • Hosep Torossian, AGBU Alex and Marie Manoogian School, Southfield

“We have some of the finest school leaders in the country, and these five finalists certainly represent the talent, innovation and demand for excellence that you’ll find in Michigan’s charter schools,” said MAPSA President Dan Quisenberry.

The announcement of the finalists was the culmination of a long process. There are more than 1,000 charter school administrators in Michigan, and hundreds of nominations were received for this year’s award. The panel of judges whittled down the list to 10 administrator semifinalists, which were announced by MAPSA earlier this month. From there, the list was narrowed to the five finalists.

The five finalists for the 2017 Michigan Charter School Teacher of the Year award were announced Monday. The finalists for both awards will be honored on April 26 in a ceremony at the State Capitol. This year’s Michigan Charter School Teacher of the Year finalists are:

  • Lindsay Andrade, second-grade teacher, Achieve Charter Academy, Canton
  • Sydney Azzi, English teacher, Grand River Preparatory High School, Grand Rapids
  • Gordon Hyska, first/second-grade teacher, Charyl Stockwell Academy, Howell
  • Jennifer Melero, kindergarten teacher, Holly Academy
  • George Pavey, Dean of Aviation, West Michigan Aviation Academy, Grand Rapids

The winners of the 2017 Michigan Charter School Teacher and Administrator of the Year awards will be announced in early May, during National Charter Schools Week.